top of page
mav logo.png

National pca awards

region of the year


PCA Region of the Year - The Ferry Porsche Trophy

The Ferry Porsche Trophy was named in honor of the late Dr. Ferdinand "Ferry" Porsche and first presented at Parade in 1961. It was sponsored by Porsche AG and Porsche of America Corporation, but today PCA is the sole sponsor of this award. The trophy is presented to the outstanding PCA region of the year that demonstrates the highest standards in meeting the objectives and ideals of the Porsche Club of America and "In Appreciation of Loyalty to the Porsche Car and the Porsche Idea." Historically, PCA awarded the Ferry Porsche Trophy to one region. In 2010, in an effort to recognize more regions for their outstanding achievements, the PCA Executive Council decided to award first and second runners-up for the Ferry Porsche Trophy.

  • 2021 - Maverick Region - Kruder Family (Bill, Debi, Carson Kruder and Maggie Mertzlufft

  • 2018 - Maverick Region

  • 1997 - Maverick Region

pca enthusiast of the year


PCA Enthusiast of the Year - The Glenn Lazar-Harry Blanchard Memorial Trophy 

The Glenn Lazar-Harry Blanchard Memorial Trophy was established by the late Bruce "King Carrera" Jennings as an annual award to be presented to the region member who best exemplifies the spirit and guidelines of PCA. The award is more commonly known as the "Enthusiast of the Year" Award.

  • 2022- Casey Spreen

  • 2018 - Bill Orr

  • 2005 - Wendy Shoffit

  • 2000 - Lanean Hughes 

  • 1985 - Fran Ussery


The Porsche (PCA) Family of the Year Award

The Porsche (PCA) Family of the Year Award was originally titled the "Leroy Spanjol Memorial Award" and first presented at Parade in 1968. The award was first sponsored by the Porsche family and continues to be sponsored by Porsche AG. The award was renamed the Porsche Family of the Year Award and presented under this title at Parade in 1974. The trophy is presented to the PCA family that demonstrates the most exceptional standards in support to their region and PCA.

  • 2001 - James, Wendy, and Jasmine Shoffit (Maverick)

  • 1995 - Jerry, Myra, and Aubrey Sutton (Maverick)


The PCA Public Service Awards

Since the Porsche Club of America was formed in 1955, regions have prioritized community service and charitable contributions. In 2002, PCA decided to recognize the unique and diverse programs implemented by regions throughout PCA in support of public service.

  • 2022 - 2nd Maverick Region

  • 2021- 2nd Maverick Region

  • 2009 - 3rd - Maverick

  • 2007 - 1st - Maverick


Zone Representatives Award

This award is presented by the Zone Representatives to individuals within Porsche Club of America who, in the opinion of the thirteen Zone Representatives, have distinguished themselves by making outstanding contributions to the club.

  • 2007 - Lanean Hughes (Maverick)

  • 1984 - Charles Davis (Maverick)




Best Overall Newsletter - The Betty Jo Turner Award for Newsletter Excellence

The Paul Heinmiller Memorial Trophy was previously awarded to the region newsletter judged to be the most outstanding for the year, as part of the PCA Newsletter Contest. The Heinmiller Memorial Award was donated in 1970 by the Porsche+Audi Division of Volkswagen of America. Mr. Heinmiller was a past National Vice President. Under Mr. Heinmiller's leadership, Porsche Panorama became a professionally executed publication both in physical layout and graphic art, as well as in refinement of its content. Almost every region has members who belong to PCA because of Panorama and who continue to renew their memberships to receive what has become the finest single-marque, club-sponsored publication in the world.

  • 2023- 3rd Place- Kurt Skaggs

  • 2020 - 2nd Place - Class VI - Maverick - Kurt Scaggs

  • 2019 - Best Cover - Maverick - Kurt Scaggs

  • 2019 - 1st Place - Class VI - Maverick - Kurt Scaggs

  • 2012 - Maverick Region - Slipstream (Richard Bradley - Editor)



Best Overall Website Award

Annually, PCA conducts the National Website Contest in which region and zone websites are judged for editorial excellence, design effectiveness, user friendliness, up-to-date content, and usefulness to their respective regions, zones, and members. As a result of the outstanding content and technical advances in past submissions, PCA decided to create an award for the Best Overall Region Website. The award was first presented at Parade in 2012. The Best Overall Region Website Award is presented to the region with highest overall score, regardless of class. The award will not duplicate any National Website Award Class winners. Zone websites are not eligible for this award. The award serves to demonstrate that the real value of any region website is in effectively serving members of the website's respective region. The award also demonstrates the fluidity and dynamics of web-based communications and the ability of the regions to adapt new technologies to meet the expectations of their users. 

  • 2022- 3rd Place- Class V- Maggie Mertzlufft 

  • 2021- 3rd Place- Class V- Maggie Mertzlufft

  • 2020 - 1st Place - Class V - Maverick - Bill Orr

  • 2019 - Best Overall - Maverick - Bill Orr

  • 2018 - 1st Place - Class V - Maverick - Bill Orr

  • 2017 - 2nd Place - Class V - Maverick - Bill Orr



National Membership Awards

In 1990, PCA implemented a campaign to increase membership. The campaign was successful, and almost 900 new members were enrolled. Based on this success, in 1991 PCA established a National Membership Competition to continue to stimulate growth. The award was first presented at Parade in 1992. Originally the recipient of the award was determined by a formula that equalized each region's growth, regardless of size. In 1998, PCA added a second category to recognize the region with the highest net growth. Today the awards are known as Greatest Factored Growth and Greatest Actual Growth. The same region cannot receive both awards. The recipients receive both a trophy and a cash award from PCA.

  • 2019 - Greatest Actual Growth - Maverick 

  • 2018 - Greatest Actual Growth - Maverick

President's parade trophy

President's Parade Trophy

The “President’s Trophy” recognizes the Region whose members have given of their time to drive to Parade. The award is based on the number of registered Region participants who drove to Parade, the size of the Region, and the distance those members drove to arrive at Parade. The award was created by Dr. Earl Kirschbaum and first presented at Parade in 1959

  • 2003 Maverick Region

bottom of page